Connect with us


BREAKING – 2023 Election: Obi beats Tinubu in Lagos



BREAKING – 2023 Election: Obi beats Tinubu in Lagos
A combined picture of Peter Obi and Bola Tinubu

Presidential candidate of the Labour Party (LP), Mr. Peter Gregory Obi, has upstaged the All Progressives Congress (APC) Presidential Candidate, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu in Lagos, in the presidential election conducted across the federation on Saturday, February 25, 2023.

Tinubu has dominated the politics of Lagos State for the past 24 years, since serving as governor between 1999 to 2007.

Though Tinubu won more local governments, Obi defeated him with the majority of the votes cast.

All the results of the 20 local governments have been declared. Tinubu won in 11 while Obi won in nine local governments.

The local governments won by Tinubu include Agege, Apapa, Badagry, Epe, Ibeju-Lekki, Ifako-Ijaiye, Ikorodu, Lagos Island, Lagos Mainland, Surulere and Mushin.

Obi on the other hand won Eti-Osa, Amuwo Odofin, Ikeja, Ajeromi-Ifelodun, Kosofe, Oshodi-Isolo, Alimosho, Ojo and Somolu.

With the results declared, Obi polled 582,454 while Tinubu scored 572,606 votes. The Peoples Democratic Party candidate, Atiku Abubakar, came third with 75,750 votes.

The results were announced by the Returning Officer for the state, Professor Adenike Oladiji.

Details of the results:

Total Number of Registered Voters – 6,942,885

Accredited Voters- 1,347,152

APC- 572,606

APGA -2,316

LP – 582,454

NNPP -8,442

PDP- 75,750

Rejected Votes – 64,278

Total Valid Votes – 1,271,451

Total Votes Cast – 1,335,729

Facebook Comments