Connect with us


Buhari names railway stations after 23 prominent Nigerians





President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the naming of some railway stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and Itakpe-Ajaokuta/Aladja-Warri corridors after 23 prominent Nigerian citizens.

Minister of Transportation, Chibuike Amaechi disclosed this through a statement by his ministry’s Director of Press, Eric Ojiekwe.

The statement noted that those honoured have contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large.

According to the statement, for the Lagos-Ibadan, with extension to the Lagos Port Complex at Apapa railway station, the beneficiaries are: Bola Ahmed Tinubu (Apapa Station), Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station), Babatunde Raji Fashola (Agege Station), Lateef Jakande (Agbado Station) and Prof. Yemi Osinbajo (Kajola Station).

Others are Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto Station), Prof. Wole Soyinka (Abeokuta Station), Aremo Segun Osoba (Olodo Station), Chief Ladoke Akintola (Omio-Adio Station), Chief Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan Station) and Chief Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre).

READ: Jonathan at Aso Rock, commends Buhari on Itakpe-Warri railway

For the Itakpe-Ajaokuta/Aladja-Warri Railway, the names are: Alhaji Adamu Attah (Itakpe Station), Dr. Olusola Saraki (Ajaokuta Station), Admiral Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo Station), Brigadier General George Innih (Agenebode Station), Anthony Eromosele Enahoro (Uromi Station), Chief Tom Ikimi (Ekehen Station) and Brig. Gen. Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia (rtd) (Igbanke Station).

Others according to the statement include: Goodluck Ebele Jonathan (Agbor Station Complex), Brigadier General David Ejoor (Abraka Station), Michael Ibru (Ogara Station), Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu Station) and Vice Admiral Mike Akhigbe (Railway Village, Agbor).

Facebook Comments
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Kindly Support Us
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x